Day 17-18 , (Jan 6-7)

On Jan 5, I did one coding problem about closures. I didn’t completely understand how Closures work despite reading this post from coderbyte. So I decided to look into more online resources that explain what JavaScript Closure is.

After some research, I found two posts on Javascriptissexy which help me better understand how closures work. Below are the links to the two articles.

Variable Scope and Hoisting

Understand JavaScript Closures with ease

I learned that closures are used extensively in Node.js which happens to be the next topic I plan on exploring this week. However, before I started learning Node.js, I decided to read some articles about how the web works. One thing about learning programming is sometimes you’re so focused on learning a language, you forget about the big picture of how the internet functions.

Below are the three blog posts I read on medium written by Preethi Kasireddy

How the Web Works: A Primer for Newcomers to Web Development

In this article, I learned about how client and server “talk” to each other and the significance of different parts of the web such as IP, DNS, Host and URL. Additionally, how the browser translate my code into human readable content via a rendering engine. Once the engine finishes parsing the information, it generates a tree structure of DOM elements. This article is really helpful and I got a better understanding of how my code is processed behind the scene.

How the Web Works Part II: Client-Server Model & the Structure of a Web Application

In this article, I learned about how port numbers allow computers to process multiple applications at the same time as well as the relationship between the database and the server. I also learned some new terms such as load balancer which acts as a traffic cop that routes client requests across the servers. Other computer concepts such as algorithms which enable the load balancer to know which server to send traffic to. The importance of services as well as content delivery networks. I am sure after reading these 4 articles posted by Preethi Kasireddy, it will only help me understand Node.js better when I move on to the Node.js courses on TreeHouse this week or the Udemy developer course Section 6- PHP. So far, I have been only using JavaScript on the front-end. I am looking forward to learning more about Node.js and building a simple web application using Node.js.

How the Web Works Part III: HTTP & REST

This article helps me understand how HTTP facilitates the flow of information in web applications. I learned about the structure of HTTP and the common HTTP methods such as GET,POST,PUT and DELETE. Additionally, the term REST which I have heard multiple times in the past.  I learned the relationship between REST and HTTP. When designing an application, REST gives you a set of constraints or guidelines to follow and hence makes the system more scalable, simple and performant.

Leave a Reply

